RU EN
OPENING HOURS

Shape

The territory given by the Moscow Government was situated close to the already built by that time Moscow Jewish Community Center. It was the Bakhmetevsky Bus Garage, its main garage 8500 square meters in area was built in 1927 as per the design of Konstantin Melnikov, a great Russian constructivist architect, and Vladimir Shukhov, an engineer.

The garage got its name after the street on which it was situated, former Bakhmetevskaya street, now Obraztsova street. The community received it in January 2001, two years after the transportation facilities had moved out.

By that time the building was in a miserable condition, the roof was absent in some places, chaos prevailed inside, it was typical abandoned working space.

The situation set new tasks for the Federation of Jewish Communities of Russia – to restore the building of the Bakhmetevsky Bus Garage and to fit the museum into the historic look of the monument of the Russian Constructivism.

The Charity Fund of Arts Development and Support Iris founded by Darya Zhukova who is now the member of the Jewish Museum and Tolerance Center Board of Trustees was asked to carry out restoration works. Land sanitization was carried out; all necessary utility lines were conducted. The Center of Contemporary Arts Garage was opened in the new building of the former bus depot in 2008.

photo2.jpg

At the same time a closed tender for the garage building reconstruction aiming at transforming it into a modern cultural center was announced. Daniel Libeskind (the author of the projects of Jewish Museums in Berlin and San-Francisco), Diller Scofidio + Renfro Bureau (the developers of the High Line park in New York), David Chipperfield from Great Britain and other famous architects were invited to participate. Each of them saw their future collaboration with constructivist architect Konstantin Melnikov differently: outbuildings, superstructures, glass shades, escalators brining visitors to new halls through the windows in the original roof, numerous complex dimensional symbols were suggested by the authors. As a result The Hettema Group won the tender organized in the beginning of 2000s in the competition between BRC Imagination Arts and Jack Rouse Assosiates. However, the next project stage was delayed, and the company started another project. The signs of the initial concept can be tracked in the existing museum layout, but the final project of the Jewish Museum resembles an attraction to a much smaller degree than that suggested by The Hettema Group.

In 2009 Graft Lab Bureau published the final project of the museum. According to it the garage remained untouched, only the floor surface was to undergo changes in order to create a complex scenario of visitors’ movement and to demonstrate different lives of Jews in Russia.

On analyzing the architects’ projects the creators of the museum concept decided that Ralph Appelbaum would supervise the realization of the concept; his company has been working on the maintenance of the Jewish Museum and Tolerance Center exposition for already several years.

photo3.jpg

Contents

Ralph Appelbaum Associates (RAA) with headquarters in New York fulfilled the projects of the Holocaust Memorial and News Museum in Washington, Museum of Transport in London and many other cultural institutions all around the world.

Before starting the works RAA agency researched the interest of the Russian cultural society to different museum formats and made plenty of analytical efforts to understand the specific character of the Moscow and Russian context.

To analyze information Appelbaum gathered the representatives of the international expert council. It united professor Oleg Budnitsky from Russia (the International Research Center of Russian and Eastern European Jewry director), professor Nathan Meir from the USA (Lorry Lockey Fund grant-holder, the assistant professor of the Harold Schnitzer Family Program in Judaic Studies, Portland University, Oregon), doctor Jonathan Dekel-Chen from Israel (the head teacher at the Jewish University and the Research Center of Russian and Eastern European Jewry director) and many others. Professor Benjamin Nathans (Ronald S. Lauder Fund grant-holder, the history adjunct professor of Pennsylvanian University), the chairman of the research and development group, was responsible for the quality of the expert council works.

photo1.jpg

The works on gathering and selection of the materials took more than ten years. Several Soviet archives which had been earlier inaccessible opened in Russia, thanks to this the exposition has become richer than it could be in the beginning of 2000s. For the first time the history of the Russian Jewry acquired rather objective and integral shape.

The range of specializations of the involved into the process researchers allowed to avoid judgmental accents in the exposition. The collection of the Jewish artifacts which the museum is now proud of was shaping during all these years. More than ten teams were involved at different stages in order to organize all the gathered materials into a truly multilayered narration which would be of interest to visitors with different depth of personal knowledge and emotional involvement.

The Museum was opened on November 11, 2012. A big educational complex including the permanent exposition, the Tolerance Center, Center of Avant-Garde, Children’s, Research, and Educational Centers as well as the area for the temporal expositions was created as a result of long and diligent work. The first project was the exposition: Le Corbusier – the architect of a book, it presented the original of the created by the famous Swiss book – Le poème de l'angle droit. Such iconic exhibitions as Aliens Everywhere (from the collection of Pomeranz Collection Fund), Performance Now together with ICI and PERFORMA, Andy Warhol: 10 Famous Jews of the 20th Century under the auspices of the Blavatnik Family Fund and Avant-Garde and Aviation were a great success. Already in 2011 the Museum started to receive gifts: from personal correspondence during World War II to the original of the iconic photo of Eugenie Haldey ‘Victory Flag over Reichstag.’ With the assistance of Vladimir Putin, the RF President, the Schneerson library was moved to the Museum, it is the collection of Ancient Jewish books and manuscripts collected by Yosef Yitzchak Schneerson, the Lubavitcher Rabbi, which had been kept in the fund of the Russian State Library for a long time.

SIGN UP

SIGN UP

BUY NOW

BUY NOW

LEAVE FEEDBACK

LEAVE FEEDBACK

Login media

Вход на форум




Регистрация

Register media

Register media

Order product

Offers and orders

Уважаемые посетители, обратите внимание на изменения в графике работы: во вторник, 24 октября, музей откроется в 13:00.
RU EN
ВРЕМЯ РАБОТЫ
Купить билет

Форма

Территория, выделенная под музей правительством Москвы, находилась вблизи от уже построенного к тому моменту Московского еврейского общинного центра. Это был Бахметьевский автобусный парк, основной гараж которого, площадью около 8500 кв.м., был построен в 1927-м году по проекту великого русского конструктивиста Константина Мельникова и инженера Владимира Шухова.

Названием парк обязан улице, на которой он находился — бывшей Бахметьевской, ныне улице Образцова. Общине его передали в январе 2001-го года, через два года после вывода оттуда транспортного хозяйства.

К моменту передачи здание находилось в плачевном состоянии: местами отсутствовала  кровля, внутри царил разгром, характерный для заброшенных производственных помещений.

Сложившаяся ситуация ставила новые задачи перед Федерацией Еврейских Общин России: восстановить  здание Бахметьевского гаража и «вписать» музей в исторический облик памятника российского конструктивизма.

Осуществить реставрацию предложили благотворительному Фонду развития и поддержки искусства «Айрис», основанному Дарьей Жуковой, которая в настоящее время является членом Попечительского совета Еврейского музея и центра толерантности. Была проведена санация земли, к гаражу подвели необходимые инженерные коммуникации. В обновленном здании бывшего автобусного парка летом 2008 открылся Центр современной культуры «Гараж».

photo2.jpg

Тем временем был объявлен закрытый конкурс на проект реконструкции здания гаража для придания ему облика современного культурного центра. К участию в конкурсе пригласили Даниэля Либескинда (автора Еврейских музеев  Берлина и Сан-Франциско), бюро Diller Scofidio + Renfro (авторов парка Хайлайн в Нью-Йорке), англичанина Дэвида Чипперфильда и других известных архитекторов. Каждый из них по-своему видел будущее соавторство с конструктивистом Константином Мельниковым: предлагались пристройки, надстройки, «стеклянные колпаки», эскалаторы, возносившие посетителей к новым помещениям через окна в оригинальной крыше, насыщение музея сложной пространственной символикой. Проведенный в начале 2000-х тендер в соревновании с BRC Imagination Arts и Jack Rouse Assosiates выиграла концепция компании The Hettema Group. Однако, переход на следующий проектный этап задержался, и компания переключилась на другую работу. Следы первоначальной концепции прослеживаются и в сегодняшней планировке музея, но в окончательном варианте Еврейский музей в гораздо меньшей степени напоминает аттракцион, чем могло бы быть, в случае  реализации проекта The Hettema Group.

В 2009 году бюро Graft Lab публикует окончательный проект музея. Согласно ему, гараж оставался нетронутым, и изменениям должен был подвергнуться лишь рельеф пола  – для того, чтобы создать сложный сценарий движения посетителя и продемонстрировать перипетии судьбы еврейского народа в России.

Проанализировав множество предложений архитекторов,  создатели концепции музея приняли решение, что воплощением замысла будет руководить Ральф Аппельбаум, компания которого уже несколько лет ведет работу над содержанием экспозиции Еврейского музея и центра толерантности.

photo3.jpg

Содержание

Базирующаяся в Нью-Йорке компания Ralph Appelbaum Associates (RAA) выполнила проект мемориала Холокоста и Музея новостей в Вашингтоне, музея транспорта в Лондоне и еще многих других культурных институций по всему миру.

Прежде чем приступить к работе над проектом музея, агентство RAA исследовало интерес российской культурной общественности к различным музейным форматам, а также провело большую аналитическую работу для понимания специфики московского и российского контекста.

В то же время для работы с информацией Аппельбаум собрал представительный интернациональный экспертный совет. В него вошли: россиянин профессор Олег Будницкий (директор Международного исследовательского центра российского и восточноевропейского еврейства), американец профессор Натан Меир (стипендиат фонда Лорри Локи, доцент Программы семьи Гарольда Шнитцера по иудаике в Портлендском университете штата Орегон), израильтянин доктор Джонатан Декель-Хена (старший преподаватель Еврейского университета и директор Исследовательского центра российского и восточноевропейского еврейства) и многие другие. За качество работы экспертного совета отвечал председатель научно-исследовательской группы профессор Бенджамин Натанс (стипендиат фонда Рональда С. Лаудера, адъюнкт-профессор истории Пенсильванского университета).

photo1.jpg

Работа по сбору и сортировке материала велась более десяти лет. За это время в России открылись  несколько ранее недоступных советских архивов, что позволило сделать экспозицию гораздо богаче, чем она могла бы быть в начале 2000-х. Впервые история российского еврейства обрела достаточно объективную цельную форму.

Спектр специализаций вовлеченных в процесс исследователей позволил обойтись без оценочных акцентов в экспозиции. На протяжении всей работы собиралась коллекция еврейских артефактов, которые теперь украшают музей. Около десяти команд на разных этапах продумывали, как сформулировать весь собранный материал в  действительно многослойное повествование, которое было бы интересно посетителям с разной глубиной личного знания и эмоциональной вовлеченности.

Музей был открыт 11 ноября 2012 года. В результате долгой и кропотливой работы был создан большой образовательный комплекс, помимо постоянной экспозиции, включающий в себя Центр толерантности, Центр авангарда, детский, исследовательский и образовательный Центры, а также пространство для временных экспозиций. Первым проектом стала экспозиция «Ле Корбюзье — архитектор книги», представившая оригинал созданной знаменитым швейцарцем «Поэмы прямого угла». С большим успехом прошли такие знаковые выставки, как «Везде чужие» (из коллекции фонда Pomeranz collection), «Performance Now» совместно с ICI и PERFORMA, «Энди Уорхол: 10 знаменитых евреев ХХ века» при поддержке Фонда семьи Блаватник и «Авангард и Авиация». Уже с 2011 года в  музей стали поступать дары: начиная от личных переписок времен Великой Отечественной войны, и заканчивая оригиналом легендарного фотоснимка Евгения Халдея «Знамя победы над рейхстагом». При содействии президента России Владимира Путина в музей была перенесена  библиотека Шнеерсона — коллекция древнееврейских книг и рукописей, собранных любавическим раввином Йозефом Ицхаком Шнеерсоном, долгое время находившаяся в фондах Российской государственной библиотеки.

ЗАПИСАТЬСЯ

ЗАПИСАТЬСЯ

КУПИТЬ

КУПИТЬ

ОСТАВИТЬ ОТЗЫВ

ОСТАВИТЬ ОТЗЫВ

Вход СМИ

Вход на форум




Регистрация

Регистрация СМИ

Регистрация СМИ

Заказать товар

Предложения и заказы